How to manage user roles

A user role is a set of permissions and restrictions that define how an individual can manage and alter what you create.

With SendPulse, you can invite your team members to work together and provide access depending on their roles in your team.

As your projects evolve and employees gain additional experience, you can update their user roles or create custom user roles.

Let’s talk about how to invite users and assign user roles in SendPulse.

How to invite a user

Go to Account settings > Team. Click Invite a new user.

Add a name

Add the user's first name and last name.

Enter contact details

Add an email address and phone number. SendPulse will send your invitation to the user's email address.

Users can confirm their phone number after registration. They will need it when setting up two-factor authentication via SMS.

Select a role

Select a role from the drop-down list. You can pick it from your list of standard and custom roles.

Set a password

Set a password for the user — they will need it to sign in. You can come up with it yourself or click the key icon to generate a random password.

The password security requirements are as follows:

  • use from 8 to 48 characters;
  • add a digit;
  • add an uppercase letter;
  • add a lowercase letter.

Provide access

See the full list of user role permissions and limitations in the article: How to distribute standard user roles' access rights.

You cannot edit the feature access list for the standard roles. However, when you invite a user, you can specify what you give them access to.

Email: Mailing lists Select the All mailing lists option or the mailing lists you want to provide access to.
Chatbots Select the All Chatbots option or the chatbots you want to provide access to.
CRM: Pipelines Select the All Pipelines option or the pipelines you want to provide access to.
CRM: Task boards Select the All Task Boards option or the task boards you want to provide access to.
Web push campaigns: Added websites Select the All sites option or the sites that have the web push script installed.
EDU: Courses Select the All courses option or the courses you want to provide access to.

You can edit the feature access list or assign a user another role as needed.

Send an invitation

After filling in all the fields, click Send an invitation.

If you have filled in all the fields, SendPulse will send your invitation to the user. You will receive a notification about it, reminding you to provide the user with their password.

Copy the password, and click OK.

How to view invited users

You can view a list of all users under Account settings > Team.

A user who has not yet confirmed their email address will have an orange dot next to their name. Once they confirm their email address, the dot will turn green.

How to view the user role list

To see the list of standard and custom roles, go to User roles.

To see the feature access list of a specific role, select its name, click the three dots at the end of the row, and select Check.

You cannot edit standard user roles, but you can select Create a role based on this to create a custom role.

Read more: How to create a custom role.

To edit or delete a custom role you've created, click the three dots next to its name, and select an option.

When viewing user role settings, you can see the number of users with this role. Click Show List to see the list of names.

If you edit user role settings, the changes will affect all users with that role.

How to edit user data

To edit user information, click the three dots next to a user's name, and select Edit.

Change names and phone numbers

You can edit users’ names and phone numbers, but not email addresses.

If you need to edit a user’s email address, you have to delete this user and then add a new one with the same access settings.

Assign other user roles

To assign a different user role to your team member, select it from the list, check their access settings, and click Save.

Resend the Invitation

If a user didn’t receive your invitation or accidentally deleted it, you can resend it.

How to delete or block a user

To revoke a user's access to the platform, you can temporarily block or delete them. To do this, click the three dots next to their name, and select an option from the drop-down menu.

If a user hasn’t confirmed their email address using their invitation, you can only delete them.

    Rate this article about "How to manage user roles"

    User Rating: 4 / 5 (9)

    Next

    How to distribute standard user roles' access rights

    Popular in Our Blog

    Try SendPulse today for free