How to work with task history and comments

When managing projects, you need to track a multitude of tasks and interact with your team. To build your workflows effectively, you can view task history, leave comments, and attach documents to discuss them with the team.

Let's talk about how to send and view comments and see your task history.

How to work with comments

Comments are a tool that helps you communicate with your team members more effectively, share information and reviews, store data, and solve issues.

Leave a comment

To leave a comment, go to a task, and type in a message in the Notes field. You can enter up to 5,000 characters, mention a team member, and attach files.

Using the Enter key, you can move a text to another line and add a paragraph. Once you type in your comment, click Send.

For example, team members can report their task progress, share new data, ask an assignee a question, clarify certain details with other team members, or note the reasons for delays.

Mention team members

To notify a team member about a comment, type in the @ symbol, and select a person.

The selected manager will receive a notification and, by clicking it, will be able to go directly to the task and respond to the comment.

Attach files

To add files to a comment, click the folder icon. Select a file from your storage, or upload a new file from your device.

All services share the same file storage. You can add a file of any extension except executable.

The maximum file size the free plan allows is 200 MB. Your file storage capacity is not defined by services but is set based on the storage capacity of the largest pricing plan among all services. To increase your storage capacity, upgrade your pricing plan. Read more: How to work with the file manager.

Once you upload your files, they will be available to all team members who have access to the task.

View comments

You can also view the entire history of communication between colleagues and quickly find the necessary documents with task data.

Under the Notes field, you will see your task history. To view only comments, click Comments only.

If a comment is too big, click Show more to expand it.

In history, you can't delete events, but you can delete irrelevant comments to focus on the most important information. To do this, click the three dots icon next to a comment, and select Delete.

How to work with task history

Task history allows you to view all the task events that have occurred to track all the changes and steps in their execution. The history shows the task event date and name, assignee, and corresponding pipeline data.

To view the history of a task, open its task card, and click All history if you have hidden it.

Let’s go over the events that can be shown in your task history.

Creating or deleting a task Shows that a task was created or deleted.
Adding, changing, or removing an assignee Shows the added or removed team member.
Changing the task status Shows the new and old task status.
Changing the task priority Shows the new and old task priority.
Adding related contacts and tasks Shows the contact added to the task (and vice versa) and the deal added to the task (and vice versa).
Adding subtasks and parent tasks Shows which task is linked to the current task
Changing task descriptions Shows that a task description was created.
    Rate this article about "How to work with task history and comments"

    User Rating: 4 / 5

    Previous

    How to work with tasks

    Next

    How to work with the calendar

    Popular in Our Blog

    Try SendPulse today for free